Thus Spoke I

I know, I know: I came out guns-blazin’ with my first set of blog posts, and then disappeared into Asian Air.  Well, as far as I know, there are two legitimate reasons for such absence:

1.  I adjusted horribly to the time zone difference, which was exacerbated by my habitual 4 hour “power” naps after work.  Indeed, “waking up” at 930pm was not productive.

2.  I fell ill to some bacterial infection in my stomach.  The theory is that I got it from drinking tap water, despite governmental guarantees that said water is safe.  Most Koreans laughed at me when informing them that I drank the tap water, signaling a distrust of the government at-large (more on that in future posts) and lack of regard for my stomach’s well-being.

Now, these would be reasonable – perhaps, expected – circumstances one would encounter when shifting continents.  But, I know that my prolonged absence derives from much deeper, existential origins….

Specifically, I’ve been struggling, morally, about the following issue:  is my blog objectifying bibimbaps in a cruel and unjust manner?  Should the sanctimonious bibimbap be subjugated in such a manner by me to my reading public? Quite simply, am I degrading the beloved bibimbap?

I’m not sure.

But I did arrive at the following conclusions:

1.  I don’t want to be another blogging douchebag that takes pictures of his food everywhere, and throws it up on the web.  Conveniently, this decision will protect both the bibimbap’s sanctity and my personal humanity in public.

2.  I reserve the right to take pictures of extraordinary bibimbaps (and other foods), but only the kind that makes your knees buckle.

Clearly, the bibimbap community at-large would be agreeable with such crisp conculsions.

In turn, I think this revised strategy will work out well for all of us.  And now, I can start the Overman (!) blogging again…

One Response to “Thus Spoke I”

  1. Furley Says:

    I reserve the right to continue to take pictures of your blog posts and distribute them to the Asian communities of every major city until you return. Good luck getting a good meal then. I also reserve the right to tell you to stfu and keep blogging. All other rights remain reserved.

Leave a Reply

